## KRISTOPHER WARNER WINS THE 2023 MICHIGAN STATE MASTERS TOURNAMENT AT PLAZA LANES in PLYMOUTH



Kristopher Warner of Jackson won the 2023 Michigan State USBC Masters Tournament held at Plaza Lanes in Plymouth by defeating Nick French, also from Jackson, 429-412.

In addition to the top prize of \$2,500.00, Warner also earned a free entry into the 2024 Michigan State USBC Masters, and the 2024 USBC Masters.

Warner qualified tenth with a six-game score of 1143. He worked his way through the winner's bracket by defeating Ian Wright of Westland 421-390, Alec Keplinger of Lagrange, IN 374-373, Charles Easton of Toledo, OH 402-378, and French 371-358.



French, who qualified fifth with 1213, defeated Brian Thompson of Flat Rock 395-376, Shawn Goshorn of Battle Creek 385-325, and Ed Burbo of Belleville 433-357 before getting sent to the loser's bracket by Warner. In the losers bracket, he defeated Keplinger 365-323 and returned to the winner's bracket to face Warner. French earned \$1,250 for second place.

Keplinger finished third and earned \$900, and Goshorn finished fourth and earned \$750.

Devin Osborn of Farmington Hills was the top qualifier with a six-game score of 1261. Osborn was sent to the losers bracket by Burbo 425-378 and was knocked out by Wright 362-356.

The oil pattern for this event proved to be tougher than anticipated, but the bowlers persevered, and the twelve who advanced to match-play averaged 197 in qualifying.

The cut to make it to match-play was 1115 (-85). The average score during match-play was 379.76 for two games. Warner averaged 199.7 during match-play and 196.25 for the tournament.

Mark McNarland of Muskegon was the top senior non-qualifier with 1086 and earned \$200.

100% of the entry fee is applied to the prize fund and returned to the bowlers.

Place	Bowler	City	<u>Prize</u>
1	Kristopher Warner	Jackson	\$2,500
2	Nick French	Jackson	\$1,250
3	Alec Keplinger	Lagrange, IN	\$900
4	Shawn Goshorn	Battle Creek	\$750
5	Ed Burbo	Belleville	\$625
6	Charles Easton	Toledo, OH	\$625
7	Ian Wright	Westland	\$500
8	Brian Thompson	Flat Rock	\$500
9	Devon Osborn	Farmington Hills	\$400
10	Lonnie Jones	Tampa, FL	\$400
11	Jason McKelvey	Farmington Hills	\$400
12	Leandre Thomas	Flat Rock	\$400
SR	Mark McNarland	Muskegon	\$200