JUSTIN KNOWLES WINS MICHIGAN STATE MASTERS TOURNAMENT AT THUNDERBOWL LANES IN ALLEN PARK



Defending champion Justin Knowles of Okemos west back-to-back as he won the 2022 Michigan State USBC Masters Tournament at Thunderbowl Lanes by defeating Mason Brantley of Detroit 543-406.

Knowles qualified third with a six-game score of 1471. In match-play he stayed in the winner's bracket with wins over

John Robertson of Waterford 464-371, Carleton Chambers of Detroit, 511-485, Scott Matthies of Owosso 508-408, and Brantley 487-460.

Brantley qualified ninth with 1390. He defeated Michael Calhoun of Wyandotte 487-454, Robert Wood Jr of Waterford 472-420, and 2022 Senior Master's champion Gerald Sikora of Ecorse 364-326. Brantley was knocked to the loser's bracket by Knowles, but advanced to the championship match by defeating Scott Matthies of Owosso 450-390.

Wood Jr. qualified first by averaging 254.5 for a six-game series of 1527. He defeated 2012 Masters champion Brian Waliczek of Frankenmuth 498-439, and then lost to Brantley. In the losers bracket, Wood Jr was sent home by Lonnie Jones of Ypsilanti 509-443



Scott Matthies had the high game in qualifying when he bowled a 300 in his sixth game of a 1489 series, which qualified second.



Corey Miller of Waterford opened match-play with a 298 in a 521 series against Jesse Koch's 501, and then Miller bowled a 300 when he defeated Robertson 527-434.

Jim Hall of White Lake was the high senior non-qualifier with a series of 1120. The field of 60 bowlers averaged 206.38 during the six games of qualifying. The top 16 qualifiers averaged 235.58 during qualifying and 223.20 in match play.

The Michigan State USBC Masters Tournament is a USBC certified event operated by the Michigan State USBC.

2022 MICHIGAN STATE USBC ASSOCIATION MASTERS TOURNAMENT - THUNDERBOWL LANES

<u>PL</u>	NAME	CITY	WINNINGS
1	Justin Knowles	Okemos	\$2,500
2	Mason Brantley	Detroit	\$1,250
3	Scott Matthies	Owosso	\$750
4	Gerald Sikora	Ecorse	\$600
5	Carleton Chambers	Detroit	\$450
6	Lonnie Jones	Ypsilanti	\$450
7	Carter Milasinovich	Shelby Twp	\$400
8	Corey Miller	Waterford	\$400
9	Michael Calhoun	Waterford	\$350
10	Aaron Lorincz	Centerline	\$350
11	Robert Wood	Waterford	\$350
12	John Robertson	Waterford	\$350
13	Brian Waliczek	Frankenmuth	\$300
14	Jesse Koch	Flint	\$300
15	Nick Beach	Muskegon	\$300
16	Matthew Coleman	White Lake	\$300
SR	Jim Hall	White Lake	\$150