JOHN GOORMASTIC WINS MICHIGAN STATE SENIOR MASTERS AT M-66 BOWL



John Goormastic of Westland won the 11th annual Michigan State USBC Senior Masters Tournament at M-66 Bowl in Battle Creek when he defeated Rick Wayne, also of Westland, 484–395 in the two-game total pins Championship match. Goormastic won \$2,000 for first prize and Wayne earned \$1,000 for finishing second.

Goormastic was seeded 10th with a six-game score of 1,352. He stayed in the winner's bracket by defeating Jeff Suma Sr. of Clarkston 443–

419, Gerald Johnson of Taylor 498–400, Michael Snow of Windsor 460–364 and Troy Stus of South Lyon 464–421.

Wayne, seeded first with 1,531, defeated William Stephenson of Sterling Heights 407–386 before getting knocked to the loser's bracket by Stus 462–384. Wayne fought his way back to the winner's bracket by defeating Suma 453–403, William Froberg of St. Joseph 472–413, Snow 477–416, Peter Kaczmarczyk of Warren 479–368 and Stus 481-404.

Stus, who finished third, defeated David Schumacher of Bloomfield Hills 486–454, Wayne 462–384, and Kaczmarczyk 478–453, before getting sent to the losers' bracket by Goormastic. Once in the loser's bracket, Stus lost to Wayne 481-404 and took home \$750.

Kaczmarczyk defeated David Tulak of Taylor 487-397 and Bill Essman of Angola, Indiana 507-430 before losing to Stus. In the loser's bracket Kaczmarczyk defeated Schumacher 434-414 before being eliminated by Wayne 479-368. He finished fourth and took home \$500.

The field of 68 bowlers averaged 208 for the six games of qualifying.

The top 16 qualifiers averaged 231 during qualifying and 219 in match play.

The Michigan State USBC Senior Masters Tournament is a USBC certified event operated by the Michigan State USBC Bowling Association.

2019 MICHIGAN STATE USBC SENIOR MASTERS TOURNAMENT AT M-66 Bowl

\underline{PL}	<u>NAME</u>	<u>CITY</u>	<u>AVG</u>	WINNINGS
1	John Goormastic	Westland	242.50	\$ 2,000.00
2	Richard Wayne	Westland	225.70	\$ 1,000.00
3	Troy Stus	South Lyon	234.64	\$ 750.00
4	Peter Kaczmarczyk	Warren	230.13	\$ 500.00
5	Michael Snow	Windsor	223.07	\$ 400.00
6	David Schumacher	Bloomfield Hills	226.56	\$ 400.00
7	Michael Calvin	Warren	231.36	\$ 350.00
8	William Froberg	St Joseph	222.36	\$ 350.00
9	Gerald Johnson	Taylor	222.25	\$ 300.00
10	Bill Essman	Angola	217.33	\$ 300.00
11	Jeffrey Suma Sr	Clarkston	214.83	\$ 300.00
12	Steve Kenyon	Grosse Ile	215.25	\$ 300.00
13	David Tulak	Taylor	213.90	\$ 250.00
14	Aaron Staples	Canton	220.60	\$ 250.00
15	Arnie Goldman	Warren	219.00	\$ 250.00
16	William Stephenson	Sterling Hgts	214.20	\$ 250.00
SUPER SENIOR CASHERS				
	George Phillips	Centreville	1324	\$ 120.00
	Edwin Austreng	Waterford	1293	\$ 120.00