JOHN NOLEN WINS MICHIGAN STATE MASTERS AT M66 BOWL

John Nolen of Waterford won the Michigan State Masters at M66 Bowl in Battle Creek when he defeated Brian Waliczek of Frankenmuth 442-402 in the final two-game title match to win the \$2,000 first prize. Waliczek settled for the second place check of \$1,000.

Nolen was the top qualifier with 1,418 and a high game of 265. After being seeded into the second round he remained in the winner's bracket with triumphs over Brian Odom of Westland 426-365, Steve Jacobs of Belleville 440-388, Ronnie Sparks Jr. of Redford 400-394 and Waliczek the first time 402-381. He then waited for a challenger to emerge from the loser's bracket. Waliczek emerged from the loser's bracket and avenged the earlier defeat with a victory over Nolen 455-386 to force a final match for the title, in which Nolen prevailed. He averaged 217.44 for 18 games of competition.

Nolen's victory gave him the Masters title at the local, state and national level. He won the United States Bowling Congress Masters in 2009 and the Metro Detroit USBC Masters in 2016. The win gives him a paid entry into the 2018 USBC Masters tournament.

Nolen said, "To be the first to achieve all three titles in Michigan is amazing. When there were four of us left in the event, the other three had all won this title previously. After winning the Detroit Masters last year I focused on this event".

Waliczek, the 2013 champion, qualified 10th with 1,321. He remained in the winner's bracket with victories over Scott Bryant of Union City 448-410, Toby Sidle of Saginaw 418-371, Kurt Pilon of Warren 469-395 and Tom Smallwood of Saginaw 400-385 before losing to Nolen 402-381. In the loser's bracket he beat Sparks 390-383 to advance from the loser's bracket. He averaged 212.9 for 22 games.

Sparks, the 2014 and 2015 Michigan State Masters champion, qualified fourth with 1,376. In match play he defeated Franklin Snodgrass of Center Line 478-381, James Dotson of Galesburg 393-364 before losing to Nolen 400-394. In the loser's bracket he beat Brian Odom 436-397 and Smallwood 476-474 before getting knocked out by Waliczek 390-383. Sparks took hone \$750 for his third place finish.

2009 Michigan State Masters champion Smallwood qualified third with 1,379, including a high game of 267. After being seeded into the second round he beat Christopher Durham of Muskegon 418-386, Charles McLeod of Westland 436-391 before losing to Waliczek 400-385. In the loser's bracket he beat Steve Jacobs 457-435 before losing to Waliczek 476-474 to end his day. He cashed for \$500.

Defending champion Cory Hines of Jackson qualified ninth by tournament rule. In match play he lost to Willie Rushing Jr. of Southfield 412-335 and Toby Sidle 400-398 to finish 22nd, cashing for \$350.

The field of 77 bowlers averaged 195.3 during the six games of qualifying. The top games of 278 were recorded by Terence Haines II of Pinckney and Brian Waliczek of Frankenmuth.

The top 24 qualifiers averaged 218.1 during qualifying and 198.9 in match play.

The Michigan State USBC Masters Tournament is a USBC certified event operated by the Michigan State USBC Association.

- more -

2017 MICHIGAN STATE USBC ASSOCIATION MASTERS TOURNAMENT AT M-66 BOWL

<u>PL</u><u>NAME</u>

<u>CITY</u>

AVERAGE WINNINGS

John Nolen	Waterford	217.44 \$	2,000
Brian Waliczek	Frankenmuth	212.91 \$	1,000
Ronnie Sparks Jr	Redford	218.67 \$	750
Tom Smallwood	Saginaw	221.81 \$	500
Brian Odom	Westland	211.17 \$	450
Steve Jacobs	Belleville	207.88 \$	450
Charles McLeod	Westland	205.69 \$	425
Terence Haines II	Pinckney	202.56 \$	425
Carleton Chambers	Detroit	207.43 \$	400
Kurt Pilon	Warren	206.00 \$	400
Toby Sidle	Saginaw	201.50 \$	400
James Dotson	Galesburg	201.50 \$	400
James Koss	Brighton	211.75 \$	375
Carl Boldt	Pontiac	205.08 \$	375
Shawn Goshorn	Battle Creek	202.67 \$	375
Willie Rushing Jr	Southfield	185.93 \$	375
LeRoy Anderson	Saginaw	211.20 \$	350
Troy Stus	South Lyon	208.70 \$	350
Franklin Snodgrass	Center Line	207.83 \$	350
Christopher Durham	Muskegon	206.92 \$	350
Kurry Crayton	Pontiac	206.70 \$	350
Cory Hines	Jackson	205.30 \$	350
Scott Bryant	Union City	195.90 \$	350
Daniel Pollak	Clinton Twp	193.80 \$	350
Senior Non-qualifiers			
Tommie Whitten	Three Rivers	1179	\$170
Edward DeGraaf	Troy	1167	\$170
Michael Lucente	Warren	1166	\$170
Fleming Cook Jr	Woodhaven	1097	\$170
-			

-30-